PSALMS ROAD TRIP: PSALM 5

ps5

PSALM 5: AN EXPECTANT MORNING PRAYER

David, in this plea for help, approaches God as MY KING and MY GOD.

“Because of your unfailing love, I can enter your house; with deepest awe I will worship at your Temple.  Lead me in the right path, O LORD, or my enemies will conquer me. Tell me clearly what to do, and show me which way to turn.” (Ps 5:7,8)

These verses point us to the book of Hebrews. We read that Jesus is faithful as a son in charge over God’s house and that we are His house if we keep our courage and remain confident in our hope in Christ. We are invited to His house, to draw near to the throne of grace, to boldly enter the holy place by the blood of Jesus, to draw near with a sincere heart in full assurance of faith. Here at Jesus’ throne of grace we’ll receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need, here our hearts will be sprinkled clean from an evil conscience and our bodies washed with pure water. Here, at the throne of grace, we bow down in worship before our God, our King. Here we will hear His directions for the journey, for the way we need to go. Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is faithful. We are His house if we hold fast our confidence firm to the end. (Heb 3:6,14; 4:14-16; 10:19-24)

Let us kneel before Jesus’ throne of grace, Let us with David boldly pray:  Listen to my voice in the morning, Lord. Each morning I bring my requests to you and wait expectantly.”

 

Leave a Reply

