PSALM 22-HONESTY,FAITH,PROPHECY

22.jpg

PSALM 22 – DAVID’S HONESTY, FAITH AND PROPHECY

One of the surprising yet refreshing things about David, which is particularly evident from Psalm 22, is the fact that he was never afraid of being vividly real and honest with God.In fact one can hardly imagine being more vivid than saying things like: “My God, My God, why have You forsaken me?” or “I’m a worm and not a man” or “you lay me in the dust of death” or “I can count all my bones, they gloat over me”. There is so much we can learn from David.He was real and honest with God on purpose, because he knew that God already knew everything in any event, including the real pain he felt. He knew that perfect honesty would please God because God is never fooled by our denial nor threatened by how forceful or vivid our confessions of our struggles are.

We can also learn from David that in the midst of crying out to God, he also started making statements of faith and reminding himself of whom God is: “Yet you are holy, enthroned on the praises of Israel” and “be not far from me for trouble is near” and “You who fear the lord, praise Him” and “For kingship belongs to the Lord”.

By being real and honest with God about his feelings and by reminding himself of the faithfulness of God in the midst of his trails, David’s plight and words became a picture of the plight and words of the future Messiah, who cried these same words: “My God, My God why have you forsaken me?” Let’s remember Him, let’s be real with Him. He not only understands our pain fully, He took our pain upon Himself. He now invites us to be real with Him and to worship Him in the midst of our trials.

-DAAN BOTHA

Leave a Reply

