PSALM 26:WORSHIP GOD

26

PSALM 26

“Declare me innocent, O LORD, for I have acted with integrity; I have trusted in the LORD without wavering. Put me on trial, LORD, and cross-examine me. Test my motives and my heart.

I love your sanctuary, LORD, the place where your glorious presence dwells.”

Psalms 26:1-2, 8 NLT

People in the world today are obsessed with fame and celebrity status. It has attained “God-like” status. Madonna, who at one stage was one of the most famous people in the world said “I won’t be happy until I am as famous as God”.

Instead of worshiping God in His Glory, they focus on the “glory” of fame & fortune.

In this Psalm, David comes before the Lord, the sanctuary where His glorious presence dwells. Although David could have relied on his fame & power at the time, he chooses to humble himself and declares the words that would put fear into anyone’s heart, as he declares, “Declare me innocent, O LORD, for I have acted with integrity; I have trusted in the LORD without wavering. Put me on trial LORD, and cross-examine me. Test my motives and my heart.

His life was submitted to seeking the Lord and worshiping Him and if there was anything in his life that could stand in the way, he wanted to repent of that. So he asks the Lord to test his heart and motives. This is true yieldedness and surrender. A heart that is willing to be examined in every area, thoughts, attitudes, words and actions.

This applies to our marriage, family, work, relationships and every secret motive.

Isaiah 57:15 “The high and lofty one who lives in eternity, the Holy One, says this: “I live in the high and holy place with those whose spirits are contrite and humble. I restore the crushed spirit of the humble and revive the courage of those with repentant hearts.”

David continues with key elements of this lifestyle:

“I do not spend time with liars or go along with hypocrites. I hate the gatherings of those who do evil, and I refuse to join in with the wicked.”  26:4-5 NLT

“I come to your altar, O LORD, singing a song of thanksgiving and telling of all your wonders.” 26:6-7 NLT. A lifestyle of worship keeps us in Gods presence.

Praise God that today we have the Holy Spirit to empower us, lead and guide us in our passion to live a life that gives Glory to God and is uplifting to those around us that we touch every day.

  • DRUMMOND ROBINSON

 

Leave a Reply

