PSALM 39: THE TONGUE

39

  • BY LIZELLE BOTHA

Oh how I can relate to this Psalm. There is so much to comment about, especially regarding the tongue – eish! What struck me the most though, was in verse 11 (NKJ): “when with rebukes You correct man for iniquity”

Correct meaning to chasten, instruct or discipline. We receive correction and discipline from a loving and perfect Father as a form of moral training. (Jer 10: 23 – 24)

Then further in verse 11 (NKJ): “You make his beauty melt away like a moth;” When God’s correction and discipline comes our own beauty melt away like a moth, but through His righteousness Jesus gives us His beauty so we start to look more like a butterfly instead of a moth.  We are being changed and transformed daily out of our moth clothes and into the clothes of a butterfly.

My Father knows that I come with tears of repentance (Psalm 51:17 – The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit, a broken and a contrite heart – These, O God, You will not despise.) to Him so often, whether I have sinned with my tongue and uttered my thoughts inappropriately like David in verse 1 – 3 or for whatever reason my Father feels to discipline me. I come and sit on His lap and try and listen for the lessons He wants to teach me out of love.  When I get up out of my Father’s lap (after much weeping, I must add J), I can pray the opposite of what David prayed in verse 12:

Thank you Father that you hear my prayer and give ear to my cry. You are not silent at my tears, for I am no longer a stranger to you but a friend. Thank you that you never remove Your gaze from me and therefore I regain strength daily and I will walk with you all the days of my life. Amen

Here is a link to a song by Jason Gray: “Learning” 

 

Leave a Reply

